Econoline Crush

When The Devil Drives is the latest album from Canadian rock veterans Econoline Crush,

formed some 30 years ago by frontman Trevor Hurst, now the sole original member. The band’s

first full-length album in over a decade, and documentary film, Flatlander, about a rocker from

Brandon, Manitoba’s second career as a psychiatric nurse, will be out later this year. Produced

by one-time Miniatures frontman Ian Alexander Smith (SATE, Cassie DaSilva) and mixed by

the legendary Jack Joseph Puig, two of the nine songs feature David “Ziggy” Sigmund, who

played guitar in Econoline Crush from 1997-2002 and rejoined in 2010. He passed away

suddenly in March 2022, just as the album was getting mixed. The two songs they wrote

together, the empowering industrial-strength rocker “Invincible” and soaring 90s Brit-pop style

“Smashing Optimistic,” are the first two singles. Another single is the groovy rant and

motivational anthem “No Quitter” and mechanical spark “Going Under,” which addresses

Trevor\\\'s depression. Originally based in Vancouver, Econoline Crush formed in 1992 and signed

with EMI Music Canada in ‘94, debuting that year with the EP, Purge. The ground breaking

band, which fused industrial music with rock at a time when “keyboards” were typically used in

pop music, followed it up with the full-length Affliction in 1996, and their ultimate breakthrough,

the platinum-selling The Devil You Know.